|Level Up||Remove this card from the Conquest Deck if you are not playing with the Hero Captains option|
All players may spend 5 gold per hero captain to advance their heroes one experience level. A player advancing his hero captain this way turns his dial until it is one click to the left of the last level the hero was at. If the hero captain was already at level 5 he is healed back to his starting position. Captive hero captains may not level up.
When you play with hero captains, the "Baton Pass" card becomes near useless. It is recommended that you remove "Baton Pass" from the Conquest deck at the same time that you add the "Level up" card. If you are using regular playing cards to substitute for the Conquest deck; this works out nicely; the 8 of Clubs becomes "Level Up" instead of "Baton Pass".
Should a Hero Captain be sold into slavery, use the point value associated with the last level he was at to determine the amount of gold brought.
Heroes may only serve as captains. They may not be purchased as troops for hire.
MULTIPLE HERO CAPTAINS
For a longer game of MKLoC allow each player to begin with multiple hero captains! A player is not eliminated from the game until all of his hero captains have been eliminated from the battlefield. Adjust starting gold supply in the following way:
2 Hero Captains -- Each player begins with 90 gold.
3 Hero Captains -- Each player begins with 120 gold.
4 Hero Captains -- Each player begins with 150 gold.
5 Hero Captains -- Each player begins with 180 gold.
Each player gets one starting settlement for each hero captain. When picking settlements, players take turns placing one hero and supporting warriors if desired on one settlement at a time.
When the "Level up" card is drawn, players may advance as many of their hero captains up a level as they legally can, paying 5 gold for each.
For games with 3 or more Hero Captains you may want to increase the number of actions a player gets each turn.
Dungeons chests can be incorporated into a game of MKLoC according to the following rules.
Set aside a few chests before the game begins.
A new card is added to the Conquest deck with the following text:
|Lost Treasure||Remove this card from the Conquest Deck if you are not playing with Dungeons chests
Place an unused chest on any terrain, first spinning the lower dial to a random position. The first warrior to come in contact with the front arc of the chest, opens and gains possession of the chest if it is not a Trap. If the chest turns out to be a Trap it is removed from play. The upper dial of the chest is always ignored.
If you are using a regular deck of playing cards to substitute for the Conquest deck, you can delegate one of the less important ones (such as "Nightfall") to represent "Lost Treasure".
The chest may be placed on any kind of terrain, even water terrain.
Once a warrior gains possession of a chest, it is his until he "cashes it in", "gives it away", or until that warrior is eliminated. Any Speed, Attack, or Defense bonuses the chest may contain are in effect for the warrior that possesses it. All bonuses are optional. (Potion bonuses are continual)
CASHING IN A CHEST
A chest may be traded in for gold by the player who controls the warrior possessing it, as long as that warrior is in any town occupied by that player. Gold is converted by dividing the number by 100, then rounding it to the nearest whole number. For instance, a chest worth 875 would be cashed in for 9 gold. It does not take an action to cash in a chest, but it can only be done on that player's turn. Once cashed in, a chest is removed from play and any Speed, Attack, or Defense bonuses it may have offered are no longer in effect.
GIVING A CHEST AWAY
A warrior possessing a chest may turn it over to a friendly warrior he is in base contact with. This may only be done on the turn of the player controlling those warriors. Any bonuses the chest may offer are immediately transferred.
RECLAIMING AN OLD CHEST
When a warrior possessing a chest is eliminated by the close combat action of an enemy warrior, the latter becomes the new possessor of the chest, and any Speed, Attack, or Defense bonuses the chest may offer are immediately transferred.
When a warrior possessing a chest is eliminated in any other way, the chest is left on the battlefield on the spot where the warrior died. The next warrior to come into contact with its front arc becomes the new possessor of the chest.